Dinosaur collection  

The Natural History Museum houses one of the world’s most important dinosaur collections. It currently includes 157 taxa, of which 115 consist of original material and 69 are type specimens.

Origins of the collection 

The collection was founded on Gideon Mantell’s collections, acquired in 1838 and 1853.


What does the collection contain? 

Ornithischian dinosaurs:

  • iguanodontians, including Iguanodon
  • hadrosaurs
  • ceratopsians, including Triceratops and Centrosaurus
  • ankylosaurs
  • Hypsilophodon

Saurischian dinosaurs:

  • sauropods
  • theropods, including:
    • megalosaurs
    • tyrannosauroids, including Proceratosaurus and Tyrannosaurus
    • spinosaurs
    • allosauroids
Geological range:

Late Triassic (about 220 million years ago) to Late Cretaceous (65 million years ago)

Geographical range: 

The collection is particularly strong in British, Canadian and African dinosaurs, though many other countries are also represented.

Using palaeontology collections