Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP802

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Edward Percival Wright
On:
15 March 1891

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Corfe View, Parkstone, Dorset to Edward Percival Wright [none given] on 15 March 1891.

Record created:
18 March 2011 by NHM

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP802.974)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Natural History Museum
Finding number:
NHM Catkey-395836
Copyright owner:
ŠA. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Parkstone, Dorset

March 15th. 1891

My dear Percival Wright

I was very sorry indeed to hear of your great domestic bereavement & consequent break up of your home. I am sure you must have suffered terribly. I must have been in America at the time & so did not hear of it.

Thanks for sending me Mr. Jolys most remarkable essay. It is however almost too deep for me. These attempts at fundamental explanations always seem to me to leave [[2]] established on that pretty site you showed me on the hill of Howth, & whether you have got an alpine garden to your satisfaction! I came here for a milder climate, but got caught this winter, which has killed a whole host of choice half-hardy plants I had just got planted. But I shall begin again in the [1 word illeg.] & [1 word illeg.] hope that as no winter like this was known for the last 50 years so none approaching it will seen again in my time. I have a nice little [[3]] garden here close to Dr. Allmans & think I shall be able to grow alpines pretty well. They are my greatest delight & I have shady & sunny banks, & have had nearly a dozen tons of purbeck rock to make them comfortable-- not having it of native growth as you have.

With best wishes | Believe me | Yours very faithfully | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

Prof. E. P. Wright.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.