Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP800

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Edward Percival Wright
On:
6 July 1882

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Nutwood Cottage, Frith Hill, Godalming to Edward Percival Wright [none given] on 6 July 1882.

Record created:
18 March 2011 by NHM

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP800.972)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Natural History Museum
Finding number:
NHM Catkey-395811
Copyright owner:
Copyright of the A. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Frith Hill, Godalming.

July 6th. 1882

My dear Wright

I send you herewith Mr. Boyd Kinnears1 pamphlet on Ireland - & also his leaflet & Circular. His proposal seems to me eminently just, common-sense, and practical, and it has the great advantage that it can be carried into effect without legislation. Or put sufficient pressure on the government & it can be put into action at once by the government.

I send also by Bookpost another copy of my "Land Nationalisation" which [[2]] please hand to your friend the Bursar (I forget his name) from me.

I have to thank you and Mrs Wright for a most enjoyable visit to Dublin. Pray give my kind remembrances to your wife & thank her for her great kindness and hospitality.

Let me know when you are coming to Reigate. We shall be away I think in August & part of September. I think perhaps I left a 3 bladed knife behind me. If it should turn up please keep for me, or send by post.

Yours very faithfully | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

ENDNOTES

1. John Boyd Kinnear, 1828-1920. Lawyer, writer and politician.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.