Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP799

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Edward Percival Wright
On:
4 April 1882

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Nutwood Cottage, Frith Hill, Godalming to Edward Percival Wright [none given] on 4 April 1882.

Record created:
18 March 2011 by NHM

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP799.971)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Natural History Museum
Finding number:
NHM Catkey-395810
Copyright owner:
ŠA. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Frith Hill, Godalming.

April 4th. 1882

My dear Wright

I sh[oul]d be very glad indeed of specimens of Spiranthes Romonzoviana [sic]1 as I have a nice[?] bit of bog prepared for Cypripediums Trilliums &c. I sh[oul]d also much like Pinguicula grandiflora, P. lusitanica and the yellow Saxifrages S. hirculus & S. hypnoides aizoides, Gentiana verna, or any other choice Irish plants. If Mr. Burbidge2 has sent off his basket before you can get me these, please send them by post. Should I ever come to Ireland again I shall hope to see your Garden, which with your opportunities will soon[?] be first-rate

Yours very truly | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

ENDNOTES

1. Correct (modern?) spelling is Spiranthes Romanzoffiana.

2. Frederick W. Burbidge, curator of Trinity College Botanic Garden 1879 - 1905.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.