Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP734

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Frederick R. ("Fred") Birch
On:
9 May 1905

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Old Orchard, Broadstone, Dorset to Frederick R. ("Fred") Birch Belmont, Port of Spain, Trinidad, West Indies on 9 May 1905.

Record created:
18 March 2011 by NHM

Summary

Discusses Birch's business dealings.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP734.906)

A postcard handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Natural History Museum
Finding number:
NHM Catkey-418732
Copyright owner:
ŠA. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]1

Broadstone, Wimborne.

May 23rd 1905

[G]ot yours of Ap[ril]. 20th. last week. Hope this [MS damaged] <will> reach you at S[an]ta. Catalina, & to hear [MS damaged] <good> news of the collecting there. You told me [MS damaged] <all?> about Mr. Thayer2 when you were at Caparo.

I wrote you so fully, last mail, on all the [MS damaged] <subjects> you touch on that that I really have nothing [MS damaged] <more> to say now. The inconveniences of being [MS damaged] <without> an agent are enormous! Suppose Mr. [MS damaged] <Druce?>3 should die suddenly[.] There would be no one [MS damaged] <to?> <look> after your collections. Till you become [MS damaged] independent with a capital of say £.100 clear, [MS damaged] with Janson4 at all hazards. You have spoken [MS damaged]. That may do good.

Yours | A.R.W. [signature]

ENDNOTES

1. There is fire damage to the left -hand edge of the page.

2. Thayer, Abbott Handerson (1849-1921). American artist and proponent on animal colouration and camouflage.

3. Possibly Druce, Herbert (1846-1913) or Druce, Hamilton Herbert (1869-1922). Both were British entomologists.

4. Possibly Janson, Oliver Erichson (1850-1925). English entomologist.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.