Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP628

Add to My list
Sent by:
Ernest F. Bates
Sent to:
Alfred Russel Wallace
On:
 [1903]

Sent by Ernest F. Bates, [address not recorded] to Alfred Russel Wallace, [Old Orchard, Broadstone, Dorset] on  [1903].

Record created:
01 June 2002 by Lucas, Paula J.

Summary

Re. the death of the writer's father [Frederick Bates] on October 6th, his father's entomological work and books, and the possibility of the correspondent's friend obtaining information about his uncle's [H W Bates] papers from O. E. Janson.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP628.628)

An author's draft handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Letter, apparently a rough draft, from Ernest F Bates to "Dear sir" [Alfred Russel Wallace] in reply to an enquiry made by the correspondent on behalf of a friend, undated and without address, with numerous corrections, on a sheet apparently torn from an exercise book.

Held by:
Natural History Museum
Finding number:
NHM WP18/4/1
Copyright owner:
Copyright of the Ernest F. Bates Literary Estate.

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Dear Sir,

In reply to your letter, it is with the deepest sorrow & regret that & regret I write in reply to your letter, to inform you that my father’s death is no longer amongst the living. After a severe illness of about three weeks he died on the Oct 6th inst in the present year. I greatly wish that he had Would that he could have lived to have seen your letter. It would have afforded him so much pleasure. Lately he had spoken about you a great deal and was especially interested in your articles which onto book recent contribution to the Fortnightly Review on the exiled of "Mans Place in the Universe." Now his interest in every thing has ceased--I hope not forever.

With regards to your [1 word illeg.] I cannot find anything at present that might be useful to your friend, but if he could make it convenient to call upon me at anytime I should be happy to show my fathers (from any) books or papers that were in my fathers possession. I am afraid that the [2 words illeg.] along get much information (about my uncles papers) from apart from bound there is out much that would be over January great Russel in London. My father himself would very much[?] at our place[?] my father left at that did considerable would understand [10 words crossed out and illeg.] himself and I am happy just now to imagine his papers both [1 word illeg.] & in help watch I know nothing of Entomology (myself) am glad to very thank the two of my fathers (close friends) are assisting me in the two.

I beg to enclose an In Memoriam Card of my father who & trusting you are in good health.

Believe me | Yours very sincerely | Earnest F. Bates [signature]

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.