Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP5512

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
William Henry Edwards
On:
7 January 1864

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, 5 Westbourne Grove Terrace, London, W to William Henry Edwards [none given] on 7 January 1864.

Record created:
08 April 2014 by Benny, Ruth

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP5512.6258)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
West Virginia State Archives
Finding number:
William Henry Edwards Collection (MS 79-2), Correspondence 23
Copyright owner:
ŠA. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

5, Westbourne Grove Terrace, London W.

January 7th. 1864

Dear Sir1

My friend Mr. Bates having informed me that you would be glad of any papers of mine on Natural History Subjects I have forwarded a set of those I have by me, through Mr. Albert S. Bickmore2 of Cambridge, Massachusetts.

I have been glad to hear that you are devoting yourself to Natural History & to Entomology in particular. The groups to which I am now devoting myself are Birds and Butterflies, & of these chiefly the groups of the Eastern Hemisphere but I retain my Amazonian Collections, & wish to add to some groups from all parts of the world. On any occasion when you are sending to England, & could spare me a small set of N[orth]. American Butterflies, especially Papilos & Pieridae, I should esteem it3 [[2]] a great favour.

With best wishes I remain | My dear Sir | Yours very sincerely | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

Mr. H. Edwards Esq

ENDNOTES

1. Wallace's correspondent is William Henry Edwards (1822-1909). American entomologist .

2. Albert Smith Bickmore (1839-1914). American naturalist and one of the founders of the American Museum of Natural History.

3. There is a stamp at the bottom of the page. It reads: West Virginia State Archives".

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.