Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP5509

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
S. C. Musson
On:
23 June 1906

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Broadstone, Dorset, Wimborne to S. C. Musson [none given] on 23 June 1906.

Record created:
07 April 2014 by Benny, Ruth

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP5509.6255)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Private Collection
Copyright owner:
ŠA. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Broadstone, Wimborne

June 23rd. 1906

My dear Mr Musson

I am sorry you could not manage to come & see us on your last visit to England, but I hope you will manage to come next time, as I should like you to see our garden & our view.

You do not say whether you have bought your house at Aigle1 or only rented it, & also whether you still take pupils or have "retired from the business". During the 3 years we have lived here I have done a great deal of planting under difficilties as our ground is too stiff for easy working. This last autumn I got a ½ more land -- making 3½ acres in all, but ⅔rds of it is wild -- & I have during the winter made a [[2]] new entrance road, and planted on each side of it a large quantity of choice & rare trees & shrubs, so that I now more species than ever I had before.

We had a wet winter, but I could not begin planting till February & March, while many of my choicer things were planted in April or May -- & the whole time from beginning of March has been excessively dry -- cold dry wind till May, & since hot blazing sun & dry southerly winds. All my new things are suffering, starting very late & making weak growth which is being continually dried up -- For the last six weeks we have [[3]] had absolutely no rain, & numbers[?] of seedling shrubs I have planted out at the end of May are making no growth at all; owing to dry atmosphere. Such are the troubles of the poor gardener!

I suppose you still go to the higher mountains in the hot months. Violet wants to go with a friend, for a month in September (or end of August) & wishes me to ask you if you can recommend any place where they can be boarded cheaply & be comfortable in a high & cool situation, with good walks & moderate excursions [word illeg.] [[4]] with fine views & some glaciers near if possible.

I suppose you have not come across my last-but-one book -- "Man's Place in the Universe"2 -- which some of my friends think my best, & which I myself believe to be as scientific and as well reasoned as any of my biological works -- notwithstanding the Critics!

With kind remebrances to Mrs Musson,

believe me | Yours very sincerely | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

P.S. I am wonderfully well considering my eye. A.R.W.

ENDNOTES

1. A small town in the canton of Vaud, Switzrland.

2. Wallace, Alfred Russel. (1905). Man's Place in the Universe; A Study of the Results of Scientific research in Relation to the Unity or Plurality of Worlds. Chapman & Hall, Ltd., London; pp. i-xii, 1-330

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.