Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP5504

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Alphonse Louis Pierre Pyramus de Candolle
On:
9 May 1873

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, The Dell, Grays, Essex to Alphonse Louis Pierre Pyramus de Candolle [none given] on 9 May 1873.

Record created:
27 February 2014 by Benny, Ruth

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP5504.6237)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Library of the Conservatoire Jardin botaniques de la Ville de Genčve
Copyright owner:
ŠA. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

The Dell, Grays, Essex.

May 9th. 1873

My dear Sir1

I am very sorry your letter did not reach me, owing to my not having remembered to send you my change of address.

The money for the translation of my book may be sent as you propose by cheque.

When I was in Switzerland a few years ago, I gathered a very handsome Orchis which I think was Orchis galeata, this with Gymnanderia odoratissima and Himantoglossum hircinum would be very acceptable to me if they [[2]]2 occur near Geneva, and I would gladly give in return seeds of Australian plants of which I have received a considerable collection

With best wishes

Believe me | Yours very faithfully | Alfred R. Wallace -- [signature]

Prof[essor] A de Candolle

3

ENDNOTES

1. Wallace's correspondent is Alphonse Louis Pierre Pyramus de Candolle (1806-1893). French-Swiss botanist .

2. There is a note written in the top right-hand corner of the page: "R. Wallace 9 mai 1873".

3. There is a typewritten note adhered to the bottom of the page. It reads: Correspondance botanique d'Alphonse de Candolle (1806-1893). Don de Mme Augustin Candolle et ses enfants aux Archives de Conservatoire botanique de Geneve, 1924."

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.