Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP5503

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Alphonse Louis Pierre Pyramus de Candolle
On:
5 April 1873

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, The Dell, Grays, Essex to Alphonse Louis Pierre Pyramus de Candolle [none given] on 5 April 1873.

Record created:
27 February 2014 by Benny, Ruth

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP5503.6236)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Library of the Conservatoire Jardin botaniques de la Ville de Genčve
Copyright owner:
ŠA. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

The Dell, Grays, Essex.

April 5th. 1873

Dear Sir1

I am now amusing myself by endeavouring to naturalize European & other temperate plants in a piece of wild land I have here, and I particularly wish to obtain the finer species of European Orchids as I have chalky banks on which I think they will succeed well.

You have no doubt many young botanical students at Geneva, and I thought you might kindly induce some of these to collect me some orchids. If they are [[2]] dug up when the leaves are withering and the tubes packed in dry sand in a small box I have reason to think they will keep perfectly well, and grow with me. Any species of Orchis or Orphrys would be acceptable, except the following which I can obtain easily in England:

Orchis mascula. L. Aceras anthropophora. Br.

" maculata. L.

" morio. L. Orphrys apifera. Huds.

" ustulata. L. " aranifera. Huds.

" purpurea. Huds. " muscifera. Huds.

" pyramidalis. L.

Gymnademia conopsea. Br.

Habenaria bifolia. Br. [[3]]

Any expenses incurred in sending them I will gladly pay.

I have had the pleasure of reading your interesting and instructive work an "Histoire des Sciences et des Savants" 2 &c. and I wrote a short review of it in "Nature" of Feb[ruary]. 13th. which I trust may have helped to make its value known in England.

With best wishes for your health

I remain | Yours very faithfully | Alfred R. Wallace -- [signature]

Mons[ieu]r Alphonse de Candolle [[4]]

4

ENDNOTES

1. Wallace's correspondent is Alphonse Louis Pierre Pyramus de Candolle (1806-1893). French-Swiss botanist .

2. Published by H. Georg, Libraire-Editeur, Geneve, Bale, Lyon, 1873.

3. There is a note written in French regarding the date of Wallace's letter, its date of receipt (17 April 1873) and his request for orchid specimens.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.