Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP5467

Add to My list
Sent by:
Odoardo Beccari
Sent to:
unknown correspondent
On:
20 June 1869

Sent by Odoardo Beccari, [address not recorded] to unknown correspondent [none given] on 20 June 1869.

Record created:
17 October 2013 by Catchpole, Caroline

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP5467.6198)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin
Finding number:
Slg Darmst. Afrika 1870
Copyright owner:
©Brigida & Orsola Beccari

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Firenzo Borgo Tegolaja 48

20 June 1869

Dear Sir

Having received your letter of the 12th sort I believe I can propose the Gentleman who would satisfy your wants in Dr. Henry Giglioli1 just returned from a voyage round the World with the Italian frigate Magenta2 wish he accopanied as Scientific officer and naturalist.

I hardly give further informations as you can refer to Prof[essor]s. Owen3 and Huxley4, Mr Wallace5 and Dr. Sclater6 in England who know him well. [[2]]

Dr. Giglioli is equally well acquainted with the English and Italian languages, but before taking the slightest decision your conditions should be clearly and fully communicated, and for that purpose you had better write it over to Dr. Giglioli whose address is 36 Lung'arno Nuovo 3 floor. Florence

I know no one at Sarawat who can collect insects scientifically , at Labuan Mr. Hugh Law, Treasurer to the colony might prove the person.

Yours faithfully | Odoardo Beccari [signature]

ENDNOTES

1. Enrico Hillyer Giglioli (1845-1909). Italian zoologist and anthropologist.

2. Magenta was a warship of the Italian Royal Navy. The voyage of the "Magenta" was sponsored by the Government of Italy in the 19th century.

3. Sir Richard Owen FRS KCB (1804–1892), English biologist, comparative anatomist and paleontologist.

4. Thomas Henry Huxley PC FRS FLS (1825-1895). English biologist and comparative anatomist.

5. Alfred Russel Wallace (1823-1913). British naturalist, explorer, geographer, anthropologist, and biologist.

6. Philip Lutley Sclater F R S FRGS FZS FLS (1829-1913). Secretary of the Zoological Society of London.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.