Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP5384

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
William Allingham
On:
April 1886

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Nutwood Cottage, Frith Hill, Godalming to William Allingham Sandhill, Witley, Godalming on April 1886.

Record created:
18 July 2013 by Catchpole, Caroline

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP5384.6094)

A postcard handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Rare Book and Manuscript Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Finding number:
William Allingham Collection: Box 2, Folder 299
Copyright owner:
ŠA. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]1

Mr Hepburn has asked me to meet him tomorrow (Tuesday) morning at ¼ to 12 at Lower Vann Farm to inspect the long-discussed encroachments at the Road there. If fine I & Mrs. Wallace shall be at Witley Station at 10.40 & propose walking there & thought you might like to join us & perhaps Mrs. Allingham2 also. The matter I understand will be brought before the Haslemere Committee tomorrow evening.

Alfred R. Wallace -- [signature]

ENDNOTES

1. Wallace is addressing his postcard to William Allingham (1824-1889). Irish poet, diarist and editor. The date of the correspondence is April 9, 1896.

2. Helen Allingham (1848-1926). English watercolour painter and illustrator.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.