Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP5310

Add to My list
Sent by:
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent to:
Charles Robert Darwin
On:
17 May 1867

Sent by Joseph Dalton Hooker, Kew, Surrey to Charles Robert Darwin [none given] on 17 May 1867.

Record created:
17 May 2013 by Chillingworth, Nancy

Summary

Hooker states his favour for Wallace to win the gold medal for biology.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP5310.5854)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Cambridge University Library
Finding number:
MS DAR 102: 163?4
Copyright owner:
Reproduced with kind permission of members of the Hooker family

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Kew

May 17/[18]67

Dear Darwin

I find I must not go to Down tomorrow, having such sent Smith1 to the country for his health which causes me some anxiety. I must put it off till the Gooseberry Season!--

I go again to Paris at end of month, a good holiday it makes, though the only rest I get is in the [[2]] Theatres. Still the show is very interesting & I have an awful deal to learn in the matter of the plants.

I hear that Wallace & Mueller2 of Victoria are the most likely candidates for gold medal for Biology & am puzzled a little to decide, but I have so very high an opinion of Wallace that I incline to him. His work is so [[3]] very good though -- less than one could have wished.

Do let me know soon how your health is & how your book gets on.

We are all pretty well & my wife is getting about a little.

Ever Yr affec | JD Hooker [signature]

ENDNOTES

1. Smith, John (1798 – 1888). First curator of the Royal Botanic Gardens.

2. Müller, Fritz (1821 – 1897). German biologist.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.