Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP5303

Add to My list
Sent by:
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent to:
Joseph Dalton Hooker
On:
3 October 1865

Sent by Charles Robert Darwin, [none given] to Joseph Dalton Hooker [none given] on 3 October 1865.

Record created:
17 May 2013 by Chillingworth, Nancy

Summary

Refers to letter sent by Wallace on 2 Oct 1865.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP5303.5847)

A typical letter handwritten by amanuensis in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Cambridge University Library
Finding number:
MS DAR 115: 276
Copyright owner:
©William H. Darwin

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Down

Oct[ober]. 3rd 1865

My dear Hooker

As you asked about the Reader I have thought that you w]oul]d like to see the enclosed letters which please return to me sometime when you feel strong enough to read a no moderately long letter accompanied with beautiful drawings by Fritz Muller1 in Brazil [[2]] on certain climbing plants I shall beg you to read it, for I am in utter perplexity whether it is worth communicating to Linn[ean] Soc[iety]. The chief point of interest is describes a sub-division of which I saw no instances, namely branches being converted into tendrils, but there is of course no sort of hurry. I feel that I am not botanist enough [[3]]

to judge whether it is worth communicating.

Before very long let us hear how you go on.

Yours very affectionately | C. Darwin [signature]

ENDNOTES

1. Müller, Johann Friedrich Theodor (Frtiz), (1821-1897). German biologist.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.