Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP5296

Add to My list
Sent by:
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent to:
Charles Robert Darwin
On:
14 May 1864

Sent by Joseph Dalton Hooker, [none given] to Charles Robert Darwin [none given] on 14 May 1864.

Record created:
17 May 2013 by Chillingworth, Nancy

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP5296.5840)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Cambridge University Library
Finding number:
MS DAR 101: 218?19
Copyright owner:
Reproduced with kind permission of members of the Hooker family

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Kew

May 14/[18]64

My dear Darwin

I have just received Wallace's anthropological paper1 & read 1/3 & am amazed at its excellence. It seems to me a very great move in advance & I am anxious to know what you think of it. The news struck me to account for the fixity of man as Wallace has done, & apparently with good reason. I am struck too with his negation of all credit or share in the Natural Selection theory2--which makes me think him a very high-minded man. I am burning to know your opinion of the paper.

[[2]] We enjoyed ourselves vastly at Mr[.] Wedgwoods[']3, they are extraordinarily kind & most agreeable. The little visit brought some roses back to my wife[']s wan cheeks.--We liked Clement4 extremely. Of course I dabbled amongst the moulds to my heart[']s content. & selected some fine plaques of which Mr W. has promised to have put in hand for me. My wife & Clement formed a common bond in german [[3]] music, & we had the happiness of hearing of such continued betterness. The Lyells5 spent an evening with us last week, both looking very well indeed we thought.

In haste | [2 words illeg.] | JD Hooker [signature]

ENDNOTES

1. 'The Origin of Human Races and the Antiquity of Man Deduced from the Theory of "Natural Selection"' by Alfred Russel Wallace published January 1, 1864 in the Journal of the Anthropological Society of London, Vol. 2.

2. Hooker refers to the theory of natural selection independently formulated by both Charles Darwin and Alfred Russel Wallace.

3. Francis Wedgwood (1800 – 1888) and family.

4. Clement Wedgewood (1840 – 1889). Partner at the Wedgwood pottery firm, Josiah Wedgwood and Sons. Son of Francis Wedgwood.

5. Charles (1797 – 1875) and Mary Lyell (1808 - 1873).

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.