Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP5278

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
unknown correspondent
On:
5 February 1913

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Old Orchard, Broadstone, Dorset to unknown correspondent [none given] on 5 February 1913.

Record created:
25 April 2013 by Catchpole, Caroline

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP5278.5821)

A typical letter handwritten by amanuensis in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Princeton University Library - Manuscripts Division, Department of Rare Books and Special Collections
Finding number:
C0140 (General Manuscripts Collection), Box 52. Manuscripts Division. Department of Rare Books and Special Collections. Princeton University Library
Copyright owner:
ŠA. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Old Orchard,

Broadstone,

Dorset.

Feb[ruary] 5th 1913.

Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your kind and interesting letter.1 I wish to inform you that you are mistaken in thinking that no other travellers have explored that part of S[outh]. America since my journey. I have published in 1908 the Journals and Letters of my friend, Dr. Richard Spruce, an eminent botanist whom, you [[2]] will remember, I mention several times in my book on the Amazon. This book is sure to be in the public libraries in New York. I strongly recommend you to read this work as it is crowded with interesting information about the Rio Negro, Cassiquiare, and Orinoco. It is full of illustrations, both of natives and of scenery from Dr Spruce’s own drawings, all of which I feel sure will interest you greatly.

I find that a Frenchman published a small volume in 1889 describing his journey to the sources of the Orinoco which [[3]] Dr Spruce failed to reach. An Italian, whose name I forget, also made several journeys in that part of S[outh]. America.

Yours very truly | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

ENDNOTES

1. This is almost certainly Caspar Whitney to Alfred Russel Wallace, 18 January 1913. Wallace Collection, WP1/8/128. Natural History Museum (London).

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.