Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP5275

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Abbott Handerson Thayer
On:
16 July 1898

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Corfe View, Parkstone, Dorset to Abbott Handerson Thayer [none given] on 16 July 1898.

Record created:
25 April 2013 by Catchpole, Caroline

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP5275.5818)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institution
Finding number:
A letter from Alfred R. Wallace to Abbott H. Thayer dated July 16, 1898. Abbott Handerson Thayer and Thayer family papers, Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institution
Copyright owner:
ŠA. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Parkstone, Dorset.

July 16th. 1898

A. H. Thayer Esq.1

My dear Sir

I know nothing of the Oxford Museum, but I expect there will be no difficulty in their accepting your illustrations, and I am sure Prof. Poulton2 would help you, & perhaps even find room for them in his Entomological Department. It is a thing that will be accepted or rejected on its own merits, certainly not on the recommendation [[2]] of any one who has not seen it.

Believe me | Yours very truly | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

ENDNOTES

1. Abbott Handerson Thayer (1849-1921), American artist and naturalist.

2. Sir Edward Bagnall Poulton (1856-1943), English biologist and entomologist, and Hope Professor of Zoology at Oxford University from 1893.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.