Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP5274

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Abbott Handerson Thayer
On:
11 July 1898

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Corfe View, Parkstone, Dorset to Abbott Handerson Thayer [none given] on 11 July 1898.

Record created:
25 April 2013 by Catchpole, Caroline

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP5274.5817)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institution
Finding number:
A letter from Alfred R. Wallace to Abbott H. Thayer dated July 11, 1898. Abbott Handerson Thayer and Thayer family papers, Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institution
Copyright owner:
ŠA. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Parkstone, Dorset

July 11th 1898


Abbott H. Thayer Esq.

Dear Sir1

Many thanks for your offer to show me your illustrations of protective colouration on shading. I was much interested in the original paper you sent me a year ago, and I shall be very glad of a visit from you whenever convenient. If you have not met him in London I am sure that my friend Prof. Poulton2 of Oxford and several other naturalists there would like to see your experiments, and you might [[2]] perhaps go first to Oxford, & then come to me, -- or the reverse if more convenient. We shall be glad to give you a bed for a night, as you may not be able to get here till rather late in the day. If you let me know the train you come by I will meet you at the station which is close to my house.

Yours very truly | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

P.S. It may perhaps be more convenient for you to come here from London, as then you can travel by faster trains from Cornwall. ARW.

ENDNOTES

1. Abbott Handerson Thayer, American naturalist and artist, (1849 - 1921)

2. Sir Edward B. Poulton, biologist (1856 - 1943)

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.