Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP5271

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
J. A. Harvie-Brown
On:
6 December 1876

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Rose Hill, Dorking to J. A. Harvie-Brown [none given] on 6 December 1876.

Record created:
22 April 2013 by Catchpole, Caroline

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP5271.5812)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
National Museums Scotland
Finding number:
HB 45/789, Harvie Brown collection
Copyright owner:
ŠA. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Rosehill, Dorking.

Dec[embe]r. 6th. 1876

Dear Sir

You evidently know far more of your special subject than I, or perhaps any one[sic] else can tell you.

The only person likely to be able to give you information is Mr H. E Dresser1, who knows the country, language, & birds & if you write to him I have no doubt he will tell you something. You may also find much information in the Parts of his "Birds of Europe" already published.

Believe me | Yours very faithfully | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

J. A. Harvie Brown Esq.2

I return your letter in case you may like to send it to Mr. Dresser.

Zoological Soc[iety]. 11. Hannover Sq[uare]. will find him.3

ENDNOTES

1. Henry Eeles Dresser (1838-1915), English businessman and ornithologist

2. John Alexander Harvie-Brown (1844-1916) Scottish ornithologist

3. Written up the left had margin of the page.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.