Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP5228

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Samuel Henshaw
On:
9 January 1900

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Corfe View, Parkstone, Dorset to Samuel Henshaw [none given] on 9 January 1900.

Record created:
08 April 2013 by Catchpole, Caroline

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP5228.5756)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Houghton Library, Harvard University
Finding number:
MS Am 1143.1 (24)
Copyright owner:
ŠA. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Parkstone, Dorset, England.

Jan[uar]y. 9th. 1900.

Samuel Henshaw Esq.1

Dear Sir

On Nov[embe]r. 8th. you wrote me a post-card informing me that you would have some photographs taken of the most striking Geographical and Palæontological rooms of the Agassiz Museum, and would send me copies for reproduction to illustrate a reprint of my article. Not having received them, and thinking it possible that press of other business or [[2]] perhaps illness may have caused you to forget all about it, I venture to trouble you again

You will remember that I wrote to Prof. Agassiz2 on the subject not knowing that he was abroad.

Believe me | Yours very truly | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

ENDNOTES

1. Samuel Henshaw (1852-1941), entomologist and 3rd Director of the Museum of Comparative Zoology at Harvard University, 1910-1927.

2. Alexander Emmanuel Rodolphe Agassiz (1835-1910), American scientist and engineer and 2nd Director of the Museum of Comparative Zoology at Harvard University, 1873-1910.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.