Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP4889

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Charles Lyell
On:
[not recorded]

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, 5 Westbourne Grove Terrace, London, W to Charles Lyell [none given] on  .

Record created:
16 November 2012 by Catchpole, Caroline

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record notes

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP4889.5289)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
American Philosophical Society
Finding number:
The Darwin-Lyell Collection
Copyright owner:
Copyright of the A. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

5 Westbourne Grove Terrace

London. W.

Monday Afternoon

My dear Sir

I have just received your kind note. I am engaged all day tomorrow, but will with much pleasure call on you on Thursday at one pm., & shall feel much honoured by making the acquaintance of one whose works I have so long admired.

The few objections that have occurred to me while reading 1 [[2]] Mr. Darwin2’s book have almost always vanished on more mature consideration; I shall therefore feel much interest in learning what are the more weighty difficulties that have occurred to you.

I remain | My dear Sir | Yours very truly | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

Sir Charles Lyell3

ENDNOTES

1. Text in unknown hand reads "47" at the bottom right of the page

2. Charles Robert Darwin (1809 - 1882), English naturalist

3. Sir Charles Lyell, 1st Baronet (1797 - 1875), British lawyer and geologist

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.