Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP4886

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Charles Lyell
On:
4 September [1869]

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, 9 St Mark's Crescent, Regent's Park, NW to Charles Lyell [none given] on 4 September [1869].

Record created:
16 November 2012 by Catchpole, Caroline

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP4886.5286)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
American Philosophical Society
Finding number:
The Darwin-Lyell Collection
Copyright owner:
ŠA. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]] 18691

9, St Mark’s Crescent N.W.

Sept[ember]. 4th.

Dear Sir Charles

I only got your letter yesterday f on my return from Devonshire.

I am quite satisfied with whatever you think my services [are] worth to you, and accept the addition as a proof that you think them of some value although my knowledge of geological details is so small.

Before leaving town I had written abstracts of pps 164 - 166 -- on Glaciation of N[orth]. America2 [[2]], a large passage on Glacial origin of lakes, -- and a shorter one on Astronomical Causes affecting Geological Climate, and one on the Arctic Miocene Flora.

I have to write a report of the Brit[ish]. Ass[ociation] Meeting for the Quarterly Journal of Science, after which I shall go on with your work.

I have been exploring Dartmoor & have visited the Bovey Tracey lignite2 beds, but could find no good plants. I have been a few days at Torquay with [[3]] Mr Macmillan who is staying there, and have had the great treat of visiting Kent’s Cavern with Pengelly3. What a wonderful history it reveals, & how important it must it be that every cavern in the country should be thoroughly explored. The find this year, of a worked flint below the oldest stalagmite floor, is a grand addition to the evidence for the extreme antiquity of man.

I am glad you are enjoying your tour so much. I should [[4]] much have liked a good geologist with me on Dartmoor. The Tors are rather puzzling. I saw much of what I thought signs of glacial action, in the distribution of boulders over flat slopes, and the quantity of drift in many places.

Believe me | Yours very faithfully | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

ENDNOTES

1. The year has been added, top left, by another hand. It is not Wallace’s hand-writing.

2. The number "47" has been inscribed at the bottom, right-hand, corner of the page.

3. A low grade of coal, often fossiliferous.

4. William Pengelly (1812 - 1894). Geologist and archaeologist. William Pengelly conducted excavations at Kent’s Cavern at Torquay, Devon, that contributed to overturning the Biblical chronology of the earth.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.