Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP4865

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Charles Lyell
On:
28 December 1870

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Holly House, Tanner Street, Barking to Charles Lyell [none given] on 28 December 1870.

Record created:
15 November 2012 by Catchpole, Caroline

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP4865.5266)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
American Philosophical Society
Finding number:
The Darwin-Lyell Collection
Copyright owner:
Copyright of the A. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]] 4261

Holly House, Barking. E.

Dec[embe]r. 28th. 1870

Dear Sir Charles

I beg to thank you for the copy of your "Students’ Elements of Geology2" which I received a few days ago. I am greatly pleased with its appearance and getting up. The arrangement also is so clear, and the woodcuts, paper and printing so beautiful, that I feel sure it will be exceedingly popular and have an immense role.

I think your preface will give people that idea that it is more abridged than it really is, since from what I can see, it contains almost everything [[2]] in the larger work that is essential to students, together with new & valuable matter.

A short time ago I received a letter from Mr A. Everett3 who is at Sarawak. He tells me he hopes to do more at the Caves next year but that he has had great difficulties to contend with owing to his want of funds. For this reason his brother has been obliged to take a mercantile situation, and he is obliged to devote most of his time to collecting such specimens of Natural History as will pay him best. To explore the caves [[3]] requires a large expenditure of time as well as expense for labour; and as a person who has had some instruction in cave-digging is out there, it seems to me a great pity that he should not be enabled to do something. He seems to think that there is good work to be done in there, & perhaps you can suggest some means of raising some money to enable him to work out thoroughly some portion of one or two caves.

I remain Dr Sir Charles | Yours very faithfully | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

Sir Charles Lyell Bart.

ENDNOTES

1. The number "426" has been inscribed at the top, left-hand, corner of the page. It is not Wallace’s hand-writing.

2. First published in 1871.

3. Alfred Hart Everett (1848 - 1898). British colonial administrator, naturalist and collector.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.