Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP4854

Add to My list
Sent by:
Othniel Charles Marsh
Sent to:
D. C. Gilman
On:
12 February 1886

Sent by Othniel Charles Marsh, Yale College Museum to D. C. Gilman John Hopkins University, Baltimore on 12 February 1886.

Record created:
14 November 2012 by Catchpole, Caroline

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record notes

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP4854.5253)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Special Collections, The John Hopkins University
Finding number:
Daniel Coit Gilman Papers, Ms. 1, Box 1.50
Copyright owner:
Not in copyright

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

YALE COLLEGE MUSEUM,

NEW HAVEN, CONN[ECTICUT].

Feb[ruary] 12 1886.

My dear Gilman1,

I enclose a copy of a letter from Wallace2 which explains itself.

Can[']t you get him a chance for a short course of lectures at the Peabody Trust, and a few at your University.

Anything he says on Natural Science will be good. [[2]] I have written Walker[?] to speak for a course at the Lowell Institute but have said nothing about the matter to anyone else as yet.

Yours very truly | O. C. Marsh3 [signature]

Pres[ident]. D.C. Gilman.

ENDNOTES

1. Gilman, Daniel Coit (1831-1908). American educator and academic.

2. Wallace, Alfred Russel (1823-1913). British naturalist and co-discoverer of natural selection with Charles Darwin.

4. Marsh, Othneil Charles (1831-1908). American paleontologist.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.