Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP4816

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
James Edmund Harting
On:
13 September 1911

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Old Orchard, Broadstone, Dorset to James Edmund Harting [none given] on 13 September 1911.

Record created:
26 October 2012 by Catchpole, Caroline

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP4816.5211)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
American Philosophical Society
Finding number:
Alfred Russel Wallace Collection Mss.B.W15a
Copyright owner:
Copyright of the A. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Septr. 13th. Old Orchard,

1911 Broadstone,

Wimborne

Dear Mr. Harting1

I think the most likely place to find the information you want is in Buffon’s great work.

I remember many years ago looking over it, & being astonished at the mass of interesting and out-of-the-way facts as to the habits & life history of animals there given. But probably the Superintendent of the Zool[ogical]. Gardens could give you [[2]] the information if you write to him.

I am fairly well but just now am suffering from Eczema & Rheumatism.

Yours very truly | Alfred R. Wallace. [signature]

ENDNOTES

1. James Edmund Fotheringham Harting (1841-1928). English ornithologist and naturalist. He was the editor of The Zoologist from 1877 to 1896. He was also a fellow of the Linnaen Society (and assistant secretary and librarian). He was considered an authority of British birds.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.