Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP4799

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Charles Ernest Cameron Wilson
On:
30 August 1902

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Corfe View, Parkstone, Dorset to Charles Ernest Cameron Wilson [none given] on 30 August 1902.

Record created:
24 October 2012 by Catchpole, Caroline

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP4799.5191)

A typical letter handwritten  in English.

Page 2 of letter finished in a different hand.

Held by:
John Greenell Wilson
Copyright owner:
ŠA. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Parkstone, Dorset.

August 30th. 1902

My dear Cousin1

We shall be very glad to see you and put you up for a night or two if you can cycle to us. I see it is only about 60 mile from your present place -- an easy day's rise for a young man. Come as early as you can after Wednesday next as my daughter will be then at home. I am just now very busy building a new house & making a new garden 4 miles <from here which I should like> [[2]]2 you to see. Send us a card the day before to let us know when to expect you

Believe me | Yours very truly | Signed Alfred R. Wallace

ENDNOTES

1. Charles Ernest Cameron Wilson, possibly son of Algernon Wilson, Alfred Russel Wallace's cousin.

2. The text on the second page of the letter is written in a hand other than that of Alfred Russel Wallace.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.