Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP4743

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Joseph Dalton Hooker
On:
14 April 1874

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, The Dell, Grays, Essex to Joseph Dalton Hooker, [Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew] on 14 April 1874.

Record created:
25 September 2012 by Catchpole, Caroline

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP4743.5099)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
American Philosophical Society
Finding number:
Alfred Russel Wallace Collection Mss.B.W15a
Copyright owner:
Copyright of the A. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

The Dell, Grays, Essex.

April 14th. 1874

Dear Dr. Hooker1

The larva would be useless to me as I have no success of a flowering age.

I should think Stainton2 & Westwood3 would be more likely to be interested in them.

I wish you joy in the change of Government4 as I suppose the new people are some[?] to behave extra well. I wish they would let you abolish "bedding out" at Kew.

Yours very faithfully | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

Dr. J.D.Hooker

ENDNOTES

1. Joseph Dalton Hooker (1817 - 1911). Botanist, explorer, Director of the Royal Botanical Gardens, Kew, and close friend and supporter of Charles Darwin.

2. Henry Tibbats Stainton (1822 - 1892). English entomologist.

3. Joseph Obadiah Westwood (1805 - 1893). English entomologist and archaeologist.

4. Benjamin Disraeli (1804 - 1881) became Prime Minister for the second time following the General Election of February 1874.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.