Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP4742

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Joseph Dalton Hooker
On:
30 April 1873

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, The Dell, Grays, Essex to Joseph Dalton Hooker, [Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew] on 30 April 1873.

Record created:
25 September 2012 by Catchpole, Caroline

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP4742.5098)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
American Philosophical Society
Finding number:
Alfred Russel Wallace Collection Mss.B.W15a
Copyright owner:
Copyright of the A. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

The Dell, Grays, Essex.

April 30th. 1873

Dear Dr. Hooker1

Many thanks for the seeds, which I have received today. Baron Mueller2 has written to say he has sent me some through you, and I see you have added some to them. I shall now have an "embarras des richesses", but I shall try and sow some of all of them & will let you know whether I have any success by this time next year.

What a wretched cold & dry April we have had.

Yours very faithfully | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

ENDNOTES

1. Joseph Dalton Hooker (1817 - 1911). Botanist, explorer, Director of the Royal Botanical Gardens, Kew, and close friend and supporter of Charles Darwin.

2. Baron Sir Ferdinand Jacob Heinrich von Mueller (1825 - 1896). German-Australian botanist, geographer and physician.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.