Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP4740

Add to My list
Sent by:
William Henry Flower
Sent to:
Alfred Russel Wallace
On:
2 January 1872

Sent by William Henry Flower, Royal College of Surgeons of England, London, W.C. to Alfred Russel Wallace, [Holly House, Tanner Street, Barking] on 2 January 1872.

Record created:
25 September 2012 by Catchpole, Caroline

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP4740.5096)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
American Philosophical Society
Finding number:
Alfred Russel Wallace Collection Mss.B.W15a
Copyright owner:
Copyright of the William Henry Flower Literary Estate.

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Royal College of Surgeons of England

London

(W. C.)

2nd day of Jan 1872

My dear Wallace

A friend of mine in Ireland, Sir Victor Brooke1, writes to ask me for an introduction to you, as he wishes to ask you some questions about the geology of the East-- he is an enthusiastic naturalist in some branches, but as I do not exactly know what he wishes for, I have told him to write [[2]] direct to you and hope that this will serve as an introduction. Any information you can give him, will oblige.

Yours very truly | W. H. Flower2

ENDNOTES

1. Victor Alexander Brooke, 3rd Baronet (1843-1893). Anglo-Irish naturalist.

2. William Henry Flower (1831-1899). English comparative anatomist, surgeon and museum curator. He succeeded Richard Owen as Director of the Natural History Museum in 1884. He had previously been conservator of the Hunter Museum and became Hunterian Chair of Comparative Anatomy and Physiology in 1870 after Thomas Henry Huxley vacated it. He was knighted in 1892.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.