Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP4719

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Matthew B. Slater
On:
24 March 1906

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Old Orchard, Broadstone, Dorset to Matthew B. Slater [none given] on 24 March 1906.

Record created:
24 September 2012 by Catchpole, Caroline

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP4719.5075)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Greater Manchester County Record Office (with Manchester Archives)
Finding number:
Wallace-Slater correspondence no. 6
Copyright owner:
ŠA. R. Wallace Literary Estate
Record scrutiny:
26/06/2014 - Benny, Ruth;

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]1

Broadstone, Wimborne

March 24th. 1906

Dear Mr. Slater2

For the last eight or nine years I have been so continuously occupied in literary work, having written 3 entirely new books the last -- "My Life" -- in two large vols. published in Oct[ober]. last, that I have had no time to think of anything else. Besides that, I have built a new house & made a new garden at this place, which I am enjoying much, especially as my health [[2]] is really better than it was ten years ago. But now that I have a little leisure my thoughts recur to our dear friend Spruce's3 papers & journals, which I understood you would get in order for publication, & I think I intimated that I might do something in the way of editing if a publisher could be found. I shall therefore be very glad to hear what you have done & whether you have found a complete journal [[3]] of his South American travels, what is their approximate bulk &c. and any other particulars about them. I will then, if you think proper, ask the advice of Sir Joseph Hooker4 & Sir Clements Markham5 -- his two chief friends living (besides ourselves) as to whether their publication will be possible, & whether any help can be obtained from the Linnean6 or other Societies. I hope you [[4]] are in good health, & have retired from business, & are enjoying yourself with mosses & flowers. I am growing here every rare plant I can get hold of that will live.

With best wishes & kind remembrances to your daughter, who I hope is quite well[.]

Believe me | Yours very sincerely | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

ENDNOTES

1. The number 6 is written in the top left hand corner of the page, in a hand other than Wallace's.

2. Slater, Matthew B. (1830 - 1918), botanist.

3. Spruce, Richard (1817 - 1893), botanist.

4. Hooker, Sir Joseph Dalton (1817 - 1911), botanist and Director of Kew Gardens (1865 - 1885).

5. Markham, Sir Clements Robert (1830 - 1916), geographer.

6. The Linnean Society: natural history society formed in 1788, and named after the Swedish naturalist Carl Linnaeus (1707 - 1778). For further information see http://www.linnean.org/

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.