Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP4666

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
John Lawrence LeConte
On:
2 January 1870

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, 9 St Mark's Crescent, Regent's Park, NW to John Lawrence LeConte [none given] on 2 January 1870.

Record created:
14 August 2012 by Catchpole, Caroline

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • enclosure (1)
  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP4666.4983)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
American Philosophical Society
Finding number:
LeConte Papers
Copyright owner:
ŠA. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

9, St Mark’s Crescent, Regent’s

Park. N.W.

Jan[uary]. 2nd. 1870

Dear Sir

My cousin, C. A. Wilson Esq. of Adelaide, S[outh]. Australia, who has been forming a collection of insects for more than 30 years, is now obliged to part with his entire private coll[ectio]n. which he is going to send to me[.]

It consists of about 11,000 specimens of about 4200 species of all orders of insects, three fourths of the whole being from the Colony of South Australia, and of course containing a large number of uniques.

Thinking you might know of [[2]] some parties in America who would be glad of the chance of obtaining such a collection entire, I take the liberty of addressing you on the subject. The collection will probably not be here for some months, so there will be ample time for you to communicate with your correspondents in America if you think it worth while[sic] to do so.

Considering that the collection is a private one, and therefore has no such number of duplicates, and all the varieties that are sure to be met with by a collector of such long standing and as persevering as my [[3]] cousin, and also because S[outh]. Australian insects are by no means so common as those from N[ew]. S[outh]. Wales I think £200 would be a fair price for the collection, -- which comes to about d.4½1 a specimen and less than a shilling a species.

Should you be in England when it arrives I hope you will see it and be able to make me an offer. On the other side I give a summary of the Collection.

I remain | yours very faithfully | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

Dr. J. Leconte.

ENDNOTES

1. 4½ pence (pre-decimalisation) is equivalent to almost 2 modern pence .

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.