Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP4660

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Thomas Campbell Eyton
On:
22 October 

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, 5 Westbourne Grove Terrace, London, W to Thomas Campbell Eyton [none given] on 22 October .

Record created:
14 August 2012 by Catchpole, Caroline

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record notes

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP4660.4977)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
American Philosophical Society
Finding number:
Eyton Papers
Copyright owner:
Copyright of the A. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

5, Westbourne Grove Terrace, W.

Thursday Oct[tober]. 22nd1.

Dear Sir2

My friend Dr Sclater3 tells me that you can probably furnish me with specimens of the sternum of some of the species of American Ant-thrushes (Formicariidæ.)3 I shall be most happy to give you in return sterna of genera from the Moluccas & New Guinea of which I have many duplicates, & the same for any other of [[2]] sterna of American families of birds.

I require the above-mentioned sternum as soon as possible to enable me to complete a paper I am now writing for the "Ibis"5, I should therefore be much obliged if you could send it me by post.

I remain | Yours very truly Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

J. C. Eyton Esq.

ENDNOTES

1. Wallace omits to refer to the year in which he wrote this letter. However, he was resident at Westbourne Grove from 1862 to 1865.

2. Wallace is addressing Thomas Campbell Eyton (1809 - 1880). English naturalist, and friend and correspondent of Charles Darwin.

3. Philip Lutley Sclater (1829 - 1913). English lawyer, zoologist and expert ornithologist.

4. A family of smallish passerine birds of subtropical and tropical Central and South America.

5. A journal published since 1859, by the British Ornithological Union.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.