Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP4645

Add to My list
Sent by:
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent to:
Alfred Russel Wallace
On:
3 August [1872]

Sent by Charles Robert Darwin, Down House, Beckenham, Kent, S.E. to Alfred Russel Wallace, [The Dell, Grays, Essex] on 3 August [1872].

Record created:
27 July 2012 by Catchpole, Caroline
Verified by:
02/01/2013 - Szentgyorgyi, Katherine (All except summary checked);

Summary

Encloses a letter to Nature correcting Dr Bree, who has accused ARW of "blundering". [summary by the DCP].

Record contains:

  • letter (2)
  • publication (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP4645.4961)

A typical letter handwritten by amanuensis in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Private Collection
Copyright owner:
©William H. Darwin
Record scrutiny:
02/01/2013 - Szentgyorgyi, Katherine;

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Down.

Beckenham, Kent.

3 August [1872]

My dear Wallace

I hate controversy, chiefly perhaps because I do it badly; but as Dr Bree accuses you of "blundering", I have thought myself bound to send the enclosed letter to Nature; that is if you in the least desire it. In this case please post it.-- If you do not at all wish it, I sh[oul]d rather prefer not sending it, & in this case please to tear it up--

And I beg you to do the same, if you intend answering Dr Bree yourself, as you will do it incomparably better than I sh[oul]d--

Also please to tear it up if you don't like the letter.

My dear Wallace | yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin. [signature]

SOURCE OF TRANSCRIPT

This transcript is based on that provided to the Wallace Correspondence Project by The Darwin Correspondence Project

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.