Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP4644

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Charles Robert Darwin
On:
[ 11 ] [September] [1868]

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, [9 St Mark's Crescent, Regent's Park, NW] to Charles Robert Darwin [none given] on [11] [September] [1868].

Record created:
27 July 2012 by Catchpole, Caroline
Verified by:
12/12/2012 - Szentgyorgyi, Katherine (All except summary checked);

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record notes

Record contains:

  • publication (1)

View item:

PUBLICATION (WCP4644.4960)

Marchant, James. (1916). II. The complete extant correspondence between Wallace and Darwin (1857-81). 127-320. In: Marchant, James. Alfred Russel Wallace Letters and Reminiscences, Vol. 1. Cassell and Company, Ltd, London, New York, Toronto and Melbourne. i-xi, 1-320. [p. 222]

Copyright owner:
ŠA. R. Wallace Literary Estate
Record scrutiny:
12/12/2012 - Szentgyorgyi, Katherine;

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]] [p.222]

Friday1

My dear Darwin,

My wife has arranged to accompany me to-morrow and we hope to be at Orpington Station at 5.44 as mentioned by you.

Very truly yours, | Alfred R. Wallace. [signature]

ENDNOTES

1. The Darwin Correspondence Project have determined the date to be 11 September 1868 by the relation to other dated letters.

SOURCE OF TRANSCRIPT

This transcript is based on that produced by The Darwin Correspondence Project (http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/): see http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/entry-6362

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.