Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP460

Add to My list
Sent by:
Fred R. Birch
Sent to:
Alfred Russel Wallace
On:
16 November 1899

Sent by Fred R. Birch, Wavertree, Liverpool to Alfred Russel Wallace Corfe View, Parkstone, Dorset on 16 November 1899.

Record created:
18 July 2011 by Beccaloni, George

Summary

Thanking Alfred Russel Wallace for past help and reporting on his own life and thoughts over the past year including a camping trip in Llanferris, flora and fauna near River Alyn, geology of local rivers, collecting moths and mosses; cycling in Pennine hills; visit from Harold Sayler; winter clothing and exercise; L S Mosley's Economic Museum in Huddersfield, Mosley's involvement with Naturalist's Journal; camping and collecting insects in Delamere Forest Cheshire, names of some beetles and moths collected; trips along Welsh rivers; reading on ethnology and the tropics in anticipation of going there, lists authors including Humboldt, Bell, H. H. Higgins, Ernst Haeckel and Huxley, praises Mary Kingsley; praises practical learning and self-sufficiency; desire to learn, frustration of work restricting time available; a friend at Ladysmith, (Boer) war; secretaryship of Lancs and Cheshire entomological Society; photography of natural objects.; Also stamped envelope addressed to Alfred Russel Wallace at Parkstone, postmarked on front Wavertree Liverpool 21 Nov 1899 with an illegible postmark on the back; annotated [in Alfred Russel Wallace's or William Greenell Wallace's hand] "Fred. Birch Interesting letter - thoughts &c &c."

Record contains:

  • letter (1)
  • envelope (1)

View item:

ENVELOPE (WCP460.1474)

Held by:
Natural History Museum
Finding number:
NHM WP1/6/1(2)
Copyright owner:
Copyright of the Fred R. Birch Literary Estate.
Image credit:
©Trustees of The Natural History Museum

View:

Scans

Sorry, this scan is not currently available.