Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP432

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Annie Wallace (née Mitten)
On:
3 January 1887

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, The Hamilton Hotel, Washington D.C., U.S.A. to Annie Wallace (née Mitten) Nutwood Cottage, Frith Hill, Godalming on 3 January 1887.

Record created:
01 June 2002 by Lucas, Paula J.

Summary

Re. arrival from Boston on December 31st in a snowstorm, stayed with Mr Riley the entomologist until a suitable room available, will stay at the Hamilton for next two or three months; instructions re. Alfred Russel Wallace's pension; Williams now has applications for many Alfred Russel Wallace lectures; meeting with Prof Coues; accounts from MacMillan can be signed by Annie; stamped envelope addressed to her at Frith Hill, Godalming and postmarked on the front Washington 3 Jan 1887 and on the back with two overlapping postmarks, one New York, [the other Godalming] Some numbers (apparently two sums of money in LSD) are written on the back in ink in an unknown hand.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)
  • envelope (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP432.432)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Natural History Museum
Finding number:
NHM WP1/5/13(1)
Copyright owner:
©A. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

The Hamilton, Washington .D.C.

U.S.A.

January 3rd. 1887.

My dear Annie1,

The above will be my address for the next 2 or 3 months. Write here (exactly as above address) till you hear I am leaving. I got here Dec. 31st. in a snow storm, & it has been since very cold freezing hard every night & quite as cold as Boston. But it will not last & the cold does not seem to hurt as it would in England being drier I suppose.

I enclose the order for the Pension. I ought to have kept my English P. stamps so you must stick one over my signature but I would [[2]] only stick it at the lower border so that they can turn it down & see the address signature. The hand clerk at the bank will tell you perhaps if this is necessary. Send me 2 stamps in your next letter for the two next receipts.

Since I wrote last Mr. Williams has had a lot of applications about lectures so I hope I shall get on fairly-- The last testimonials have produced an effect. This is a lovely city but I will tell you more about it when I write next. I have been staying till today with Mr. Riley the Entomologist as I could not get a room at once, all the [[3]] nice hotels being crowded. I have met Prof. Coues & I had quite forgotten him, & that he called & dined with us only two years ago or less! He is very jolly.

Hoping you are quite well & with love to Violet & Willie

I remain | Your Affectionate Husband | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

P.S. Did you not receive any accounts from Macmillan after I left? They ought to have come, & be paid this month. You can sign any such receipts with your name for Alfred.R. Wallace

A.R.W. [signature]

ENDNOTES

1. Annie Mitten Wallace (1846-1914), Wallace's wife.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.