Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP4287

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Charles Robert Darwin
On:
 [1862]

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, [5 Westbourne Grove Terrace, London, W] to Charles Robert Darwin [none given] on  [1862].

Record created:
14 June 2012 by Catchpole, Caroline
Verified by:
05/12/2012 - Szentgyorgyi, Katherine (All except summary checked);

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record notes

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP4287.4409)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Cambridge University Library
Finding number:
MS Dar. 181: 7
Copyright owner:
ŠA. R. Wallace Literary Estate
Record scrutiny:
05/12/2012 - Szentgyorgyi, Katherine;

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

I have only the 1st. Edition of the "Origin"-- I suppose the one you kindly sent to Singapore must have reached after I left & they did not think it worth while to return it. I should be much pleased to have the 3rd. Ed[itio]n.

I have never considered the Ostriches to have any real connection with Mammals, & should imagine1 [[2]] difficult [3 words excised] of anomalous semiaquatic animals which should easily admit of modification into these three forms.--

I find myself very delicate & dread the winter, as I have been suffering here from inflamation of the pleura, & bad cough through a little exposure to night air.

I remain | My dear Mr Darwin | Yours very faithfully | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

C. Darwin Esq.

ENDNOTES

1. Page 2 has been torn in half meaning the letter does carry on from page 1 into page 2 fluidly.

SOURCE OF TRANSCRIPT

This transcript is based on that produced by The Darwin Correspondence Project (http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/): see http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/entry-3694

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.