Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP4240

Add to My list
Sent by:
Annie Wallace (née Mitten)
Sent to:
Wilmette Porter Cockerell
On:
16 October 1910

Sent by Annie Wallace (née Mitten), Old Orchard, Broadstone, Wimborne to Wilmette Porter Cockerell [none given] on 16 October 1910.

Record created:
20 April 2012 by Catchpole, Caroline

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP4240.4309)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
American Museum of Natural History
Finding number:
MSS.W3551
Copyright owner:
Copyright of the Annie Wallace (née Mitten) Literary Estate.

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Old Orchard,

Broadstone,

Wimborne.

Dear Mrs Cockerell1

We are much interested in your new find of a red Sunflower & hope you will be able to fire[?] it, as it would be a great acquisition to gardens.

Of course we should like a few seeds, but would it not be better for you to keep all you can at present, as you might give away the choicest without knowing.

I have no doubt the Antirrhinums do much better in your2 [[2]] country. They do not do very well here [as] the soil is too heavy I expect and[?] they want more lime.

Your Rosa Stellata is still alive but did not flower quite so well this year as last owing no doubt to the cold wet season we have had. I think of moving it to a better place but Im almost afraid for fear of losing it. I tried crossing it last year without success, & have done the same this year with a Wichuraiana instead of R[osa]. Altaica. One has to [[3]] take anything one can get, as flowers do not as a rule open to order. Rosa Stellata is so very distinct[?] that if you can do anything with it, it will show at once I feel sure.

Dr Wallace is very well and has finished his book3 & is now busy with the proofs. It is a good thing [its] over[?] for it got rather too much for him at the last, & it was a great relief to see the back of it. He has now time to get out in the garden and begin transplanting down to the new wild garden.

We have had a very poor apology for a Summer[.] [[4]] It has been wet & cold for the most part & nothing seems to have flourished as it might.

I send you a few seeds of Anchusa Italica, Dropmore variety which you may like to have[.] It is far superior to the type and[?] a fine blue. With you it may grow to a large size, it is quite hardy & perennial.

With kindest regards from Dr Wallace & all of us to you & Mr Cockerell.

Yours sincerely | Anne Wallace [signature]

Oct[ober] 16. 1910.

ENDNOTES

1. Wilmatte Porter Cockerell (1871 - 1957). Botanist and wife of Theodore Dru Alison Cockerell.

2. There follows a small amount of text, written in a separate hand and aligned vertically, at the bottom of the right-hand margin.

3. Possibly "The World of Life: A Manifestation of Creative Power, Directive Mind and Ultimate Purpose"; Chapman and Hall Ltd., London, Dec. 1910.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.