Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP419

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Annie Wallace (née Mitten)
On:
23 June 1899

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Corfe View, Parkstone, Dorset to Annie Wallace (née Mitten) [none given] on 23 June 1899.

Record created:
01 June 2002 by Lucas, Paula J.

Summary

Re. letters from William; local walks; his health; visit from Miss Ree, a friend of Mrs G Davies of Godalming; Rose (Mitten) and Miss Horn at a local bazaar for E. Africans.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP419.419)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Natural History Museum
Finding number:
NHM WP1/4/13
Copyright owner:
©A. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Item notes

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Parkstone, Dorset

June 23rd 1899

My dear Annie,

As you are not coming home till Monday I send you Wills long letter received yesterday afternoon. I have written to Will this morning. We have been to see Mr Raynes Dickson, & to Ardmore, and a walk to Wills daffodil fields, Broadstone Junction yesterday morning, but I have not felt up to much yet. A Miss Ree called here yesterday & took tea. She is a great friend of Mrs G Davies [[2]] of Godalming, and is thinking of taking or building a house with a friend or relative who is rather delicate. She seems very pleasant. Nobody else has been but Rose went with Mrs Horn yesterday to a kind of bazaar for E. African niggers at "The Elms".

That is all the news.

Yours very affectionately | Alfred [signature]

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.