Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP411

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Annie Wallace (née Mitten)
On:
[July] [1895]

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Hotel du Glacier Du Rhone, Switzerland to Annie Wallace (née Mitten), [Corfe View, Parkstone, Dorset] on [July] [1895].

Record created:
01 June 2002 by Lucas, Paula J.

Summary

Re. sending a box of plants, including Gentians, gathered at the Furka Pass, detailed instructions for planting in greenhouse, plans to put out on new rockery; Pa (Annie's father William Mitten) finding lots of curiosities including miniature willows; plans to go on to Grimsel Hospice and Meiringen.

Record notes

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP411.411)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Natural History Museum
Finding number:
NHM WP1/4/5
Copyright owner:
©A. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Item notes

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Hotel du Glacier du Rhone

Wednesday Evening.1

My dear Annie

I send you now a box of plants I got on both sides of the Furka Pass yesterday & about here today. The Furka Pass on both sides is a perfect flower-garden and the two sides have mostly different species. The violets and anemones were lovely & I have got two species of glorious gentians one I think is bavarica & the other either verna or one very like it. All the flowers in the box are very choice species & have been carefully dug up, & having seen how they grow I have been thinking of a plan of making a little bed for them on top of the new rockery where now there is nothing particular. Will you please plant them out carefully in the zinc tray of peat & sphagnum that stands outside near the little greenhouse door. Just lift up the [[2]] sphagnum & see if the earth beneath is moist if not give it a soaking. Then put them all in, the short rooted ones in the sphagnum only, the other through into the peat. Then give them a good syringing & put the tray under the shelf outside the greenhouse, & cover with newspaper for a day or two. After that I think they will do, keeping them moist if the weather is dry. Your Pa is getting hosts of curiosities. Today we found 4 or 5 species of willows from ¼ inch to 2 inches high, & other rarities.

Tomorrow we walk up to the Grusich Hospice sending our luggage by post. Next day to Meiringen for 2 days, then if your Pa does not want to come back to Wengen for 4 or 5 days to the hotel where Violet stayed.

We are getting on very well so far. In haste for post and dinner.

Your ever affectionate | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

ENDNOTES

1. ‘(July 1895)’ has been written in pencil in another hand.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.