Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP410

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Annie Wallace (née Mitten)
On:
29 June 1895

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Parkstone, Dorset, to Annie Wallace (née Mitten) Hurstpierpoint, Sussex on 29 June 1895.

Record created:
01 June 2002 by Lucas, Paula J.

Summary

Re. arrival of her letter from Grindenwald, is preparing for journey (with her father William Mitten), asks her for guide book with maps and to ensure Mitten's boots well nailed, will visit Meiringen and other places on Annie's recommendation; Dr Allman's gardener to care for orchids in Alfred Russel Wallace's absence; visit from Comerford Casey and his daughter, visit by George Silk; visit by a student of Spiritualism and his wife who went into a trance and behaved as various characters including Alfred Russel Wallace's mother, photographs taken, possibly (a spirit) may be seen.; Stamped envelope addressed to Mrs Wallace c/o W. Mitten, Hurstpierpoint Sussex, postmarked on the form Parkstone 29 Jun 1895

Record contains:

  • letter (1)
  • envelope (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP410.410)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Natural History Museum
Finding number:
NHM WP1/4/4(2)
Copyright owner:
©A. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Item notes

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Parkstone, Dorset.

June 29th. 1895

My dear Annie

I had your letter this morning from Grindenwald & am very glad you have enjoyed yourselves & seen some good flowers at last. As you say nothing about it I suppose you did not get any live plants or ferns. I am getting things ready for our journey. See that your pa has his strongest walking shoes well nailed or I will not be responsible for him. Please bring with you [[2]] the Guide Book Bessie has & ask your Pa if I may cut out of it any maps that are better than those I have. I am arranging the small kettle & lamp in a strong card book box for our use. I have had George Silk with me for a week. He left this morning. As you like Meiringen so much we may stay there a night or two & then perhaps walk over the Scheideck to Grindenwald [[3]] staying a night at Rosenhain on the way. Did you walk up from Grindenwald to the Great Schiedeck [Kleine Schiedegg?]? It is nearly 3000 feet higher, & I should have thought far too much for you unless the mountain air invigorated you. I have arranged with Dr. Allmans gardener to come every evening & water the orchids. We have at last had a fine rain, all night, & the garden begins to look grand. I had a visit from Mr. [[4]] Comerford Casey & his daughter (two of whom came with the Bournemouth Botanists) He is a very nice man was at Nice during the great Earthquake is very fond of plants, and, although a parson, is quite open minded, & even a Socialist! He is a great invalid & may come to Parkstone but fears it is not bracing enough. I have also, yesterday, had a visit from the young student of Spiritualism & his wife, a very pretty woman who went off into a trance, & after being first a weepy lady, then a nigger-woman, afterwards was my mother, & would hold my hand very tight while I was being photographed & said she would try to appear! Perhaps we shall see1 something!

Your affectionate | Alfred [signature]

ENDNOTES

1. The text block "we shall see" to the signature is written vertically up the left hand side of the page 4.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.