Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP409

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Annie Wallace (née Mitten)
On:
1 November 1892

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Corfe View, Parkstone, Dorset to Annie Wallace (née Mitten) [none given] on 1 November 1892.

Record created:
01 June 2002 by Lucas, Paula J.

Summary

Re. Annie's safe arrival at Malvern; lunch with Sir Reginald and Lady Palgrave, the Watkins, Dr Allman and Miss Travers at Mr Dugmore's, Alfred Russel Wallace left early as all talking "Primrose League"; arrangement of refurbished study; tea at Mrs Barnes's with the Nichols, Mrs Cooper, the Pocock family and Mrs Maitland; Violet doing gymnastics; the Huddlestone's renting a house at Bournemouth; sending a copy of "Natural Science" containing photos of Coral reefs for Miss Shaen; will send "Fortnightly" on; London Library; Annie's health regimen; cooking.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP409.409)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Natural History Museum
Finding number:
NHM WP1/4/3
Copyright owner:
©A. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Item notes

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Parkstone, Dorset

Novr 1st 1892

My dear Annie

We were glad to hear that you arrived all safe at Malvern. I hope you are now enjoying some walks as we are having a few fine days. Last Monday Thursday I went to Mrs Dugmores to lunch to meet Sir Reginald Palgrave & Lady Palgrave; Mr [Allen] Watkins were there & Dr Allman & Mrs Havers. Sir R[eginald] is a common-place sort of man, and as, after lunch, they all got talking "Primrose League" -- I departed as soon as I decently [[2]] could.

We got back in to the study yesterday (Monday). With the new window & new bookcase & fresh arrangement of my writing table it looks much larger & is much more cheerful & convenient. The pictures rearranged themselves without any trouble, and there is now plenty of room for some years new books and periodicals. Yesterday afternoon I went to tea (by invitation) to Mrs Burnes as Violet was at her modelling gymnastics. Mary enquires after you. Only the Nichols, Mrs Cooper & the Pococks and Mrs Maitland there.

[[3]] The Huddlestones have taken a furnished house at Bournemouth near the W. station for a month or two. They go there on Friday. I send you copy of "Natural Science", for Miss Shaw, chiefly an account of the beautiful photographs of coral-reefs in it, the first I have ever seen. You can look at them with a magnifying glass. It is a duplicate and need not be returned. I will send you the "Fortnightly" as soon as we have read it. Your ferns are all right. We had a very hard frost about a week back but it did not do [[4]] us much harm.

I have sent Will a letter to go to London Library, but have heard nothing from him yet. I hope you are having cold baths every day & wet sheets at night to strengthen your constitution, besides half a dozen bottles of Malvern water daily. We had the Huddlestones to tea on Sunday, and we are going to supper with the Nichols on Friday. Feeding goes on regularly as per usual. No muffins yet. Buns instead. Two efforts at lemon pudding. Not yet successful. Kind remembrances to Miss Shaw.

Your ever affectionate | Alfred [signature]

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.