Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP406

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
George Silk
On:
16 June 1848

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Pará, Brazil to George Silk [none given] on 16 June 1848.

Record created:
01 June 2002 by Lucas, Paula J.
Verified by:
22/05/2012 - Catchpole, Caroline (All except summary checked);

Summary

Letter from Alfred Russel Wallace to George [Silk], from Para [Brasil], 16 June 1848. Refers to safe arrival, and describes voyage from Liverpool to Para which was achieved in 31 days (26 April - 28 May); describes the City in detail, including its public spaces and buildings, and refers to having taken a house 'nearer the woods'; comments on the abundance of oranges and bananas and the cost of beef; comments on the racial mix in the City; describes the climate and comments on how much he is enjoying it; he has been collecting insects and comments on their variety - has collected 400 'distinct kinds'; hopes to collect plants and other things when he gets to his own house; he will send word when a parcel is expected as postage is expensive.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP406.406)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Natural History Museum
Finding number:
NHM WP1/3/89
Copyright owner:
Copyright of the A. R. Wallace Literary Estate
Record scrutiny:
22/05/2012 - Catchpole, Caroline;

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Para, June 16th 1848

Dear George1

You will see by the above that I have delayed answering your letter rec[eive]d. in London, till I could give you satisfactory proof of my having reached my destination safe & sound.-

The perils of the deep were less than I expected. I was sick for the first 10 days more or less & unwell from want of exercise the rest of the time, but after we got out of the Channel we had beautiful weather & made the passage in 31 days which was less than we anticipated -- We sailed from Liverpool on the evening of April 26 & arrived at Para early on the morning of May 28th. Since then we have been [[2]] staying at the House of the conseqence[sic] of the vessel Mr Miller the captains brother -- for the last fortnight we have been at his Country House on Rosinha ab[ou]t. half a mile out of the city.

We have now just taken a house ourselves rather nearer the woods and tomorrow expect to be in it. We have an old nigger here who cooks &c. for us, & have been practising housekeeping for a fortnight. - Now for a little description of the place -- The city is a curious outlandish looking place the best part of it very like Boulogne. The streets narrow & horribly rough. No pavement -- The public buildings handsome but ruinous & out of repair. The squares & public places grass & weeds like an English Common. Palms[sic] trees of many different kinds Bananas & plantains abundant in [[3]] all the gardens. Oranges innumerable most of the Roads out of the city having rows of orange trees on each side of them -- Bananas & oranges are delicious. I eat them at almost every meal -- Beef is the only meat to be constantly had -- not good but cheap 2 3/4d per lb. Coffee grows wild all about the city -- yet it is imported for use, the people are so lazy -- Every shade of colour is seen here in the people from white to yellow brown & black -- negroes[,] Indians, Brazilian & Europeans & every intermediate mixture. The Brazilians & Portuguese are very polite & have all the appearance of civilized beings -- naked nigger children abound in the streets.

Within a mile of the city all round is the forest extending uninterruptedly many hundreds [[4]] and even thousands of miles into the interior -- The climate is beautiful. We are now at the commencement of the dry season -- It rains generally for an hour or two every evening though not always -- Before sunrise the thermometer is ab[ou]t. 75o. in the afternoon 85o to 87o the highest I have yet seen it -- This is hot but by no means oppressive -- I enjoy it as much as the finest summer weather in England -- We have been principally collecting Insects at present -- The variety is immense we have already got about 400 distinct kinds -- When we get to our house sure in the country we shall collect plants & other things --

This letter will go to England by the ship I came in & as I have many more letters to write I must now remain

Yours sincerely | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

PS. when a parcel is coming I will let you know as postage is very expensive here.

ENDNOTES

1. George Silk, Wallace’s childhood friend.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.