Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP402

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Frances ("Fanny") Sims (née Wallace)
On:
22 December 1891

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Parkstone, Dorset to Frances ("Fanny") Sims (née Wallace) [none given] on 22 December 1891.

Record created:
17 July 2011 by Beccaloni, George

Summary

Re. a legacy of £10 left to Fanny by Miss Hudson; brother John's recovery from an accident; invitation to Fanny to visit Parkstone; sending her a Christmas turkey; £5 owed Fanny in a legal case; request for copies of photos of Alfred Russel Wallace.

Record notes

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP402.1468)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Natural History Museum
Finding number:
NHM WP1/3/85(2)
Copyright owner:
©A. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]1

Parkstone, Dorset

Dec. 22nd. 1891

My dear Fanny2

Unless Miss Hudson died absolutely poor I think her legacy to you of £10 about the meanest possible, ­­ and I feel quite sure that a lawyer like Spencer would not have let her impoverish herself. I should like to see her will some day. I was very glad to hear that John was getting over his accident. I was afraid that the breakage & the shock, at his age might have serious 3[[2]] consequences.

We shall be very glad if you can come to see us this winter. We can accommodate you very well, so come either at the New Year or later as you like. Let me know when you fix to come & I will send you your ticket.

I have sent you a small turkey and trimmings for Xmas. It should arrive soon after this. I think you should either call on the lawyer or write to see about the £5. It seems to be me [[3]] very unfair of the judge in such a case to give so long before distraining, when they know contempt of court by not appearing it merely gives them time, if they like, to escape, -- but I suppose it is too small an amount for that. Perhaps to save you expense the lawyer is waiting for you to call on him for the money. I would call on him at once to see if he has it.

In haste | Your affectionate brother | Alfred R. Wallace [signature] --

Over)4

[[4]] P.S. Have you any of my large photo[graphs]s printed? I should like a few in the course of the next few weeks if they can be done.

A.R.W.

ENDNOTES

1. "[WP1/3/85(2)]" Written in pencil by someone other than A.R.W.

2. A.R.W.s sister, Frances Fanny Wallace Sims (1812-1893)

3. "[Old ref WP2/1/19]" written in pencil along the bottom of the page by someone other than A.R.W.

4. "Over" is written within a bracket in the bottom, left-hand corner of the page.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.