Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP392

Add to My list
Sent by:
Herbert Edward Wallace
Sent to:
Frances ("Fanny") Sims (née Wallace)
On:
7 [June] [1849]

Sent by Herbert Edward Wallace, [Neath, Glamorganshire] to Frances ("Fanny") Sims (née Wallace) [none given] on 7 [June] [1849].

Record created:
01 June 2002 by Lucas, Paula J.
Verified by:
22/05/2012 - Catchpole, Caroline (All except summary checked);

Summary

Re. sailing for Brazil to join Alfred Russel Wallace.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP392.392)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Natural History Museum
Finding number:
NHM WP1/3/75
Copyright owner:
Copyright of the Herbert Edward Wallace Literary Estate.
Record scrutiny:
22/05/2012 - Catchpole, Caroline;

Item notes

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]1

Neath

Monday 7th

Dear Fanny2

Taking every encumbrance into consideration, upon receiving Alfreds letters we thought it was best that I should join him in Para3 every thing is now arranged; I leave the Abbey on Saturday next, and start from Swansea to Liverpool on the wednesday following; I was glad to hear by your letter on Sunday that every thing arrived safe and have no doubt as you have4 [[2]] a place for every thing, every thing by this time is in its place. I should like very much as I told Thommas[sic] to come and see you before I go, but as we have been to a good deal of expense in preparing my outfit; I am afraid it is not possible, I am glad to hear you have got some drawing pupils and I dare say you will also soon obtain some french ones. It is an extraordinary fact, and yet nothing extraordinary for the Neath People; that now [[3]] I am about to depart many want to take French lessons and regret they did not so before. Just like them in the case of yourself and Alfred. But I hope this will be a better speculation for me; we are doomed to be a scattered family, and if it must be so, if circumstance has so ordained it let us meet it bravely, and with honest hearts go forth, resigned and cheerful under the dispensations of Providence; Farewell my dear Fanny, perhaps we may in some future time yet meet again; may all the happiness [[4]] which unison of heart and mind is capable of giving be yours now and in future years, for

"True affection lasts the longer

When its brightest hours are oer

Parting sorrows bind it stronger

Memory but endears it more"

Now like the family of Renpoute[?], we are to be scattered abroad<.> Let us hope that all its members may meet yet again, Fare thee well and if for ever, now for ever fare thee well. I must now remain

Your ever Affectionate Brother | Edward Wallace5 [signature]

ENDNOTES

1. "[WPI/3/75]" in pencil in an unknown hand in the top left corner of the page.

2. ARWs sister, Frances Wallace Sims (1812-1893).

3. Pará, a state in northern Brazil.

4. "[old ref WP2/1/1]" in pencil in an unknown hand in the bottom left corner of the page.

5. Herbert Edward Wallace (1829-1851), ARWs younger brother.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.