Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP3892

Add to My list
Sent by:
Henry Walter Bates
Sent to:
Joseph Dalton Hooker
On:
30 April 1862

Sent by Henry Walter Bates, King St. Leicester to Joseph Dalton Hooker, [Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew] on 30 April 1862.

Record created:
08 February 2012 by Catchpole, Caroline

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP3892.3812)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew
Finding number:
JDH/2/1/2
Copyright owner:
Copyright of the Henry Walter Bates Literary Estate.

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

King St. Leicester

april 30 1862

My dear Sir

I forewarned Mr. Wallace that you might not expect us last night as you had not heard from us since the previous Monday; we had a delightful stroll in the gardens so there was not great harm done. I hope we shall be more successful next time but I dare say you will meet Mr. Wallace frequently.

Have I done right in setting the artist to work on the two plates for the Linnean trans[actions].? I understand [[2]] from what you have said that the strict rule is for the author to deliver his paper with Drawings complete; I could have delivered it with Drawings incomplete but this would have been extremely inconvenient, for the Drawings have to be made from two collections & the way I have arranged will save many journeys & communications & much trouble. You were so kind as to say the Soc. w[oul]d waive etiquette in this case. I am glad if it, the plates were an after thought suggested by friends & necessitate much alteration in the paper which was [[3]] written with the view to a very humble place in the "Proceedings["] by the side of Walker's & Smith's articles on insects. The artist will [one word illegible, crossed out] draw the plates insects on [one word missing] (I do know whether he had yet communicated with the secretary) & I will finish the paper when the drawings are complete. I will let you know what the artist intends to change & ask your opinion as to the proportion [MS missing] changed the [MS missing] Soc. for mere [MS missing] engraving.

Yours sincerely | H. W. Bates [signature]

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.