Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP3873

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
John Gilbert Baker
On:
16 August 1889

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Parkstone, Dorset to John Gilbert Baker, [Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew] on 16 August 1889.

Record created:
07 February 2012 by Catchpole, Caroline

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP3873.3792)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew
Finding number:
BAK/1/1
Copyright owner:
ŠA. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Parkstone, Dorset

August 16th 1889

My dear Mr. Baker1

Will you be so good as to inform me if the enclosed leaves belong to the Laurus camphora2 or to some other species. It is proving as a shrub about 5 feet high in a very sheltered position in a garden here, & the plant was obtained in the Riviera where it was thought to be Laurus camphora. I see however that species is described as having [[2]] the leaves "triple-nerved" (both in London's Encyclop.[edia] & in the new Dict.[ionary] of Gardening3) and it is nowhere referred to as being possibly hardy in this country.

Believe me | Yours faithfully | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

ENDNOTES

1. John Gilbert Baker (13 January 1834 - 16 August 1920), English botanist at the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew.

2. Laurus camphora (known more commonly as Cinnamomum camphora), a large evergreen tree native to east and southeast Asia.

3. Possibly The illustrated dictionary of gardening: a practical and scientific encyclopedia of horticulture for gardeners and botanists, edited by George Nicholson and published in 8 volumes between 1884 and 1889.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.