Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP3863

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
[ David Prain ]
On:
21 December 1911

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Old Orchard, Broadstone, Wimborne to [David Prain], [Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew] on 21 December 1911.

Record created:
07 February 2012 by Catchpole, Caroline

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP3863.3782)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew
Finding number:
DC English Letters 1911-1920 Vol. 124
Copyright owner:
ŠA. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]1

Old Orchard,

Broadstone,

Wimborne.

Dec[embe]r. 21st 1911

The Director Roy[al]. Bot[anic]. Gardens, Kew

Dear Sir

Last July (early) my wife received a few seeds from a lady, who had received them from her sister in Uganda collected while she was travelling in the Highlands.

They were sown at once, and are now in flower -- and I send you specimens in a cardboard [[2]] cylinder by same post. The Salvia ? is 4 to 5 feet high, and is, presumably, an annual; and from its flowering so quickly under the dreadfully sunless & ever dark foggy days of the last 2 months, seems to indicate that it would make a very useful & ornamental h. hardy annual.

I shall be glad to know if you have had it in flower & can give me the name.[[3]]

My wife has a few more seeds & can send you a small quantity if you wish to try them

Yours very truly | Alfred R. Wallace [signature] [[4]]2

ENDNOTES

1. Letter annotated in pencil in an unidentified hand "Ans[were]d. 23.XII.11".

2. Annotated in a different hand:

"Pycnostaelys Dawei, H. E. Brown in Gard. Chom. 1907

Seeds desired XLI p. 18

Tricholaera posea. Nees, sens. lat. another specimen desired when more fully out.

22.xii.11

O. S."

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.