Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP3610

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
White & Sons
On:
6 September 1877

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Madeira Villa, Madeira Road, Ventnor, Isle of Wight to White & Sons [none given] on 6 September 1877.

Record created:
21 December 2011 by Catchpole, Caroline

Summary

No summary available at this time.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP3610.3511)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Surrey History Centre
Finding number:
K99/3/BOX15
Copyright owner:
ŠA. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Madeira Villa, Madeira Road.

Ventnor, I. of Wight

Sept[embe]r. 6th, 1877

Messr. White & Sons1

Dear Sirs

The Rev. Mr. Hillyer will leave my house in Rosehill on Tuesday afternoon next, and I have arranged for him to pay a half-week's rent for the accommodation. There is also a sum of s10/- agreed to be paid for the coals left in the house, which I shall be obliged by your receiving with the rent. I propose to return to Dorking on Tuesday evening.

Yours truly | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

24 . 4 . 0

2 . 2 . 0

- . 10 . 0

6 . 16 . 0

[[2]]

31877

Wallace, A.R.

re

House Agency

ENDNOTES

1. White & Sons, British real estate firm founded in 1817

2. This text appears in the bottom left of page one, as a scratch addition of currency undertaken by the author.

3. The text from here until the end of the document occurs on the centered in the right half of the second page, likely as an address or notation on the outside of the folded letter.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.