Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP334

Add to My list
Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
Violet Isabel Wallace
On:
11 October 1891

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Parkstone, Dorset to Violet Isabel Wallace [address not recorded] on 11 October 1891.

Record created:
01 June 2002 by Lucas, Paula J.

Summary

Re. forwarding Zoo tickets, suicide of gardener's wife Mrs Monk, books, got £20 from Arena for his paper, written paper on "American flowers and forests" for Fortnightly, hopes natural history lectures are not too hard

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:

LETTER (WCP334.334)

A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Natural History Museum
Finding number:
NHM WP1/2/133
Copyright owner:
İA. R. Wallace Literary Estate

Physical description

Transcription information

View:

Transcript

[[1]]

Parkstone, Dorset.

Oct[obe]r 11th. 1891

My dear Violet1

Grandpa & Grandma returned home yesterday, after a very wet visit, but we had a few pretty fair excursions. I send you Zoo[logical]. tickets for next two Sundays as Ma said something about your wanting them.

We have had a dreadful tragedy here. Mrs. Monk (our gardeners wife) woke up in the night and found her baby -- 2 months old -- uncovered and cold. She thought it was dead [[2]] and told Monk to go for the doctor instantly -- he went, & while he was gone she rushed out of the house, & threw herself into the waterworks tank (I believe) and drowned herself. He was wandering about all night almost before he found her, quite dead, but the baby was alive & well, being asleep all the time! There was an inquest on Friday & she is to be buried tomorrow -- Monday. [[3]] She was unwell & must have been out of her mind, not even to wait for the doctor!

Was the book I gave you last year, McAlpines Biological Atlas? And would the Zoological Atlas

Vertebrates -- 24 Plates

Invertebrates 16 plates

by the same man be useful to you. Let me know.

I have heard from the Ed[itor]. of "Arena" -- He likes my paper & has sent me £. 20 for it, & I expect proofs soon. I have written another article on "American flowers & forests" [[4]] for Harris, which I suppose will appear in next "Fortnightly". -- No more S. Africa in this months, but an almost equally good one on Australia by Francis Adams, -- also a terrible one on Russia.

I hope the Nat[ural]. Hist[ory]. lectures to the Students is not too hard work for you. If it is give it up, as the most important this year is to pass your exams well. Ma seems to have enjoyed herself pretty well in London

Your affectionate Papa | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

ENDNOTES

1. ARWs daughter, Violet Wallace (1869-1945).

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.